Palm Beach County Leaving The Scene Of An Accident Attorney
If you received a citation for or were arrested for Leaving the Scene of an Accident, you need to call experienced criminal defense attorney Jesse L. Cohen at 786-521-2295 NOW! Our attorneys believe in answering their own phones to make you feel better faster. No secretary or a call center in India if you call now, attorney Jesse Cohen WILL answer!
Leaving the Scene of an Accident is a serious crime in Belle Glade, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Greenacres, Jupiter, Lake Park, Lake Worth, North Palm Beach, Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Palm Springs, Riviera Beach, Royal Palm Beach, Wellington, West Palm Beach and the surrounding areas in Palm Beach County.
A conviction in Palm Beach County for leaving the scene of an accident case can result in considerable consequences. The potential penalties include fines, probation, jail, a criminal record and points on your driver’s license.
If serious bodily injury or death occurs, being sentenced to multiple years in prison is a realistic possibility. If there’s a dead or injured body, you DEFINITELY will need an experienced attorney! If you speak to Attorney Jesse Cohen, the contents of the call is privileged, even if you don’t end up hiring us. Why are you wasting time reading the rest of this article- call now! 786-521-2295! Free and privileged consultations with an experienced attorney.
A conviction for a leaving the scene of an accident offense that causes any property damage will automatically add 6 points to your driver’s license, causing a serious insurance premium increase and you could have a potential points suspension of your driver’s license.
Being convicted could result in a permanent criminal record. Palm Beach County leaving the scene of an accident attorney Jesse Cohen understands how to defend Palm Beach County hit and run cases.
In addition to fighting the charge(s), our attorneys can look into negotiating for a reduced charge to a non-criminal traffic infraction, and can negotiate for the court to withhold adjudication to keep points off your driver’s license and avoid a formal conviction. The State Attorney’s office will typically request a driver’s improvement class along with a fine if a reduction is to a traffic ticket is negotiated. If the case is reduced to a civil traffic infraction you will not have a criminal record. Our Palm Beach County leaving the scene of an accident lawyers are experienced in helping individuals charged with criminal traffic offenses. Retaining an experienced traffic attorney can help you achieve the best possible outcome in your Palm Beach County case. We are happy to discuss your case with you but you have to make the phone call. The initial consultation is always free. Our number is 786-521-2295! Free and privileged consultations with an experienced attorney.
The pertinent Florida Statutes are as follows:
Damaging an Unattended Vehicle or Property (Florida Statue 316.063)
A driver who hits unattended property has the duty to make an effort to locate the owner of the damaged property. If the owner cannot be found, the driver should visibly leave a note indicating his or her name, address and registration information. Furthermore, the driver is also required by law to contact law enforcement and notify them of the accident. Failure to comply with this statute results in a misdemeanor of the second degree punishable by up to 60 days imprisonment and up to a $500 fine.
Accidents Involving Occupied Vehicles or Attended Property (Florida Statute 316.061)
A driver who crashes into an occupied vehicle or attended property that results only in property damage is required to remain at the scene of the accident until he or she completes his or her statutory duties. These duties include exchanging pertinent information such as name, address and registration, presenting a driver’s license, and notifying law enforcement of the accident. A driver who violates this statute has committed a misdemeanor of the second degree punishable by up to 60 days imprisonment and up to a $500 fine.
Accidents Causing Death or Personal Injury (Florida Statute 361.027)
A Palm Beach County leaving the scene of an accident with serious bodily injury or death is a serious charge. A driver who is involved in an accident that causes any personal injury must remain at the scene of the accident until completing his statutory duties. These duties also include exchanging pertinent information, presenting a driver’s license, notifying law enforcement, and providing reasonable aid to the injured party. A willful violation of this statute results in a felony of the third degree. A third degree felony carries an imprisonment term of up to 5 years, and a possible fine of up to $5,000. If the accident results in a death of any person and the driver willfully fails to comply with this statute, the driver has committed a felony of the first degree. These are serious charges that require the assistance of an Palm Beach County leaving the scene of an accident with serious bodily injury attorney. A first degree felony carries a term of imprisonment of up to 30 years, and a fine of up to $10,000.
ONE LAST THING!:
What does Knowledge Mean?
Because of the specific "willful" language found in Florida Statute 361.027, the Assistant State Attorney must prove that you knew or should have known someone had been injured in the accident. We may be able to convince the Palm Beach County prosecutor that due to the nature of the property damage, your limited interaction with the other driver and your prompt departure, you would not have known any injury had taken place. In this way, you could benefit from a reduction in the charge and far less exposure to punitive sanctions. It is not uncommon for our clients to be charged with the offense of leaving the scene of property damage in Palm Beach County despite their involvement in a very minor fender-bender. Past clients have told us that they exited their car after a minor accident and quickly looked over both vehicles. With no apparent damage and finding the other driver to lack any injury, leaving the scene is understandable. This can be dangerous if the other driver notices the slightest dent, scratch, mark or abrasion. If this sounds like your case our attorneys can point out to the judge that your case lacks the necessary "criminal intent" to sustain the charge. Photographs of your vehicle at the point of impact showing no damage may be persuasive evidence for your case. If you made it this far, you should call 786-521-2295 for your Free and privileged consultation with an experienced attorney. If you tell us you read the whole article, we will be very happy