Orlando Suspended Driver's License Attorney
If you are accused of driving on a suspended license in Orlando you can be charged with a civil infraction or criminal citation. In 2013 Orlando had just over 9,400 Orlando unknowingly driving on a suspended license tickets. In 2013 Orlando had just over 7,600 knowingly driving on a suspended license tickets. Driving on a suspended license without knowledge is a non-criminal civil infraction. If you get a ticket for driving on a suspended license without knowledge it is a payable infraction but do not pay it without speaking to an Orlando suspended license attorney. You do not want to pay a suspended license ticket. It will county as a strike towards you becoming a habitual traffic offender. If this is a third offense and two prior offenses occurred within a five year period, you will be labeled by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Department of Motor Vehicles) as a Habitual Traffic Offender. Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) status in Orlando results in a five-year driver’s license revocation. A person classified as a Habitual Traffic Offender cannot even obtain a hardship license until a full year has elapsed from their most recent conviction. To make matters worse DHSMV counts conviction date to offense date to increase the number of habitual traffic offenders. As a habitual traffic offender your driver's license will be suspended for five years and if you get a suspended license ticket as a habitual traffic offender you can be charged with a felony. Retaining an Orlando suspended license lawyer will greatly reduce the chance that your suspended license ticket will count as a strike against you. Call 407-883-6853 to set up a free consultation with Orlando driving on a suspended license attorney Kevin J. Pitts. Mr. Pitts has handled hundreds of suspended license cases as a former Assistant State Attorney and Orlando criminal defense attorney.
Orlando Suspended License Penalties
An Orlando driving on a suspended license ticket is enhanceable. The first offense with knowledge can be charged as a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days jail, 6 months of probation and a $500 fine. A second offense may be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail, 1 year of probation and a $1,000 fine. A third offense in Florida may result in felony charges, with up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation and a maximum fine of $5,000. Any person whose driver's license has been revoked as a habitual traffic offender that drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of Florida while such license is revoked can also be charged with a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation and a maximum fine of $5,000.. Contact Orlando driving while license suspended attorney Kevin J. Pitts today to discuss the options you have in your case.