Flagler County Violation of Pretrial Release Attorney
Kevin J. Pitts
If you have been arrested in Flagler County the terms ROR (release on own recognizance) can sound like a miracle. This is essentially a get out of jail free card. Unfortunately in Palm Coast, Bunnell and the surrounding areas in Flagler County the term ROR is almost always has strings attached. This means that ROR almost always comes with pretrial release or pretrial services. The financial savings in bond money is quickly outweighed by the hassle of supervision. If the term supervision sounds like probation it is not. It will feel a lot like probation though. You will report to pretrial service location. You can be drug tested. If you miss an appointment or fail a drug test you can be thrown back in jail with no bond or a much higher bond. The goal of pretrial is to provide information regarding arrestees to judges so they can make informed release decisions and promote public safety by ensuring appearance in court and compliance with release conditions established by judges for certain defendants. It can also avoid the upfront cost of posting a bond.
The reality is that pre-trial is a weapon used by prosecutors to impose their will on the defendants. This couldn’t be truer in a Flagler County domestic violence case. Violating a condition of pretrial release is a misdemeanor when you are accused of domestic violence. Under Florida Statute 741.29(6) A person who willfully violates a condition of pretrial release provided in s. 903.047, when the original arrest was for an act of domestic violence as defined in s. 741.28, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083, and shall be held in custody until his or her first appearance. What this basically means is if the domestic violence case is weak the prosecutor can attempt to drag the case out a few months and see if the accused fails a drug test or misses an appointment. If that happens they can use the new charge to attempt to get what they wanted on the weak domestic violence case.
If somebody you know has been arrested in Palm Coast or Flagler County do not let them go to first appearance without bonding them out of jail. Contact a Flagler County bail bondsman or post a cash bond to avoid the hassle of pre-trial release. If someone you know is accused of domestic violence or other charges classified by Florida Statute 907.041 (4) (a) as dangerous (listed below) they need to speak with Flagler County criminal defense attorney Kevin J. Pitts. Charges classified as dangerous require the jail to hold the accused without bond until they go in front of the judge. The initial consultation is always free. Call Flagler County Violation of Pretrial Release Attorney Kevin J. Pitts today at 386-451-5112 to set up a free consultation.
2. Aggravated assault;
3. Aggravated battery;
4. Illegal use of explosives;
5. Child abuse or aggravated child abuse;
6. Abuse of an elderly person or disabled adult, or aggravated abuse of an elderly person or disabled adult;
7. Aircraft piracy;
11. Sexual battery;
14. Lewd, lascivious, or indecent assault or act upon or in presence of a child under the age of 16 years;
15. Sexual activity with a child, who is 12 years of age or older but less than 18 years of age, by or at solicitation of person in familial or custodial authority;
16. Burglary of a dwelling;
17. Stalking and aggravated stalking;
18. Act of domestic violence as defined in s. 741.28;
19. Home invasion robbery;
20. Act of terrorism as defined in s. 775.30;
21. Manufacturing any substances in violation of chapter 893; and
22. Attempting or conspiring to commit any such crime.