Flagler County Suspended License Attorney
If you are accused of driving on a suspended license in Flagler County you can be charged with a civil infraction or criminal citation. In 2016 Flagler County had 335 Flagler County unknowingly driving on a suspended license tickets. In 2016 Flagler County had 575 Flagler County knowingly driving on a suspended license tickets. Driving on a suspended license without knowledge is a non-criminal civil infraction. If you get a ticket for driving on a suspended license without knowledge it is a payable infraction but do not pay it without speaking to Palm Coast suspended license attorney Kevin J. Pitts. You do not want to pay a suspended license ticket. It will county as a strike towards you becoming a habitual traffic offender. If this is a third offense and two prior offenses occurred within a five year period, you will be labeled by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Department of Motor Vehicles) as a Habitual Traffic Offender. Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) status in Flagler County results in a five-year driver’s license revocation. A person classified as a Habitual Traffic Offender cannot even obtain a hardship license until a full year has elapsed from their most recent conviction. To make matters worse DHSMV counts conviction date to offense date to increase the number of habitual traffic offenders. If you pay an old ticket they will use the payment date not the issue date. As a habitual traffic offender your driver's license will be suspended for five years and if you get a suspended license ticket as a habitual traffic offender you can be charged with a felony. Retaining a Bunnell suspended license lawyer will greatly reduce the chance that your Flagler County suspended license ticket will count as a strike against you. Call 386-451-5112 to set up a free consultation with Flagler County driving on a suspended license attorney Kevin J. Pitts. Mr. Pitts has handled hundreds of suspended license cases as a former prosecutor and Flagler County criminal defense lawyer.
Flagler County Suspended License Penalties
A Flagler County driving on a suspended license ticket is enhanceable. The first offense with knowledge can be charged as a second degree misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 60 days jail, 6 months of probation, cost of prosecution, cost of investigation and a $500 fine. A second offense may be charged as a first degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail, 1 year of probation, cost of prosecution, cost of investigation and a $1,000 fine. A third offense in Florida may result in felony charges, with up to 5 years in prison, 5 years of probation, cost of prosecution, cost of investigation and a maximum fine of $5,000. Any person whose driver's license has been revoked as a habitual traffic offender that drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of Florida while such license is revoked is guilty of a felony of the third degree. Contact Flagler County driving while license suspended attorney Kevin J. Pitts today to discuss potential defenses and strategy.